Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / News / Employment / Cuomo names commission appointees

Cuomo names commission appointees

Bill Thompson will chair the Judicial Compensation Commission established last year to examine, evaluate and recommend adequate pay for New York state judges.

Thompson is the chief administrative officer/senior managing director at Siebert Brandford Shank & Co. and chair of the Battery Park City Authority. From 2002 to 2009, he served New York City comptroller. Before being elected to public office, he was appointed as Brooklyn’s representative to the New York City Board of Education, later becoming president for five terms. In 1993, he was the senior vice president at an investment firm. From 1983-1992, Thompson was deputy borough president of Brooklyn. He is a graduate of New York City Public Schools and Tufts University.

Rick Cotton is executive vice president and general counsel of NBC-Universal and chairman of the U.S. Chamber of Commerce Coalition against Counterfeiting and Piracy. He has been at NBC for more than 20 years, except for his service as president and managing director of CNBC Europe from 2000 to 2004. During the 1980s, he practiced law in Washington, D.C, and then served as president and CEO of HCX Inc., a Washington-based management company. During the late 1970s, Cotton held several high-level positions in the U.S. Departments of Health, Education, and Welfare and Energy.

Bill Mulrow is senior managing director at Blackstone. He has been chairman of Sterling Suffolk Racecourse LLC since August 2007. He was a director of the Federal Home Loan Bank in New York City, the Municipal Assistance Corporation and the United Nations Development Corporation. In addition, Mulrow served on the boards of several academic institutions including the Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University, the Maxwell School for Public Affairs at Syracuse University and the Fordham Preparatory School in the Bronx. Mulrow earned his BA from Yale University and his MPA from Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government.

The commission is comprised of seven appointed members. Three are nominated by the governor, two by the New York state chief judge, one by the president pro-tem of the state Senate and one by the speaker of the Assembly.