Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / Law / Bar / Women’s bar association releases evaluations

Women’s bar association releases evaluations

The Judicial Evaluation Committee of the Greater Rochester Association for Women Attorneys has released its evaluation of seven judicial candidates running for seats on the state Supreme Court, Monroe County Family Court and Rochester City Court.

Each was found qualified or highly qualified:

New York State Supreme Court, Seventh Judicial District (two seats)

Judge David M. Barry: Highly qualified

Judge Charles F. Crimi Jr.: Qualified

Judge Gail A. Donofrio: Highly qualified and commended

Judge Scott Odorisi: Qualified

Sean E. Gleason Highly qualified

Monroe Family Court (currently no seats)

Gary Muldoon: Highly qualified and commended

William H. King, Jr.: Qualified

Rochester City Court (one seat)

Judge Ellen Yacknin: Qualified

The GRAWA Judicial Evaluation Committee is a non-partisan group representing a cross-section of attorneys in the greater Rochester area who come from a variety of political backgrounds, purposefully balanced, and work for a variety of public and private firms and agencies which practice in the relevant courts.

GRAWA’s evaluation process includes reviewing a detailed questionnaire completed by the candidate, reviewing writing samples, conducting reference checks and holding an in-depth interview. Evaluation criteria include experience; integrity; professional competence; judicial temperament; and service to the law and contribution to the effective administration of justice and/or the community.

Evaluation criteria for a candidate currently sitting as a judge also include: preparation, attentiveness and control over judicial proceedings; judicial management skills; courtesy to litigants, counsel and court personnel; public disciplinary sanctions; and quality of judicial opinions.

Participating candidates who are rated highly qualified, qualified or not qualified. A rating of commended is also given to those who have demonstrated outstanding sensitivity to issues of gender bias, women and minorities.