Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / News / Government State / State to provide services in six more languages

State to provide services in six more languages

New York State agencies are providing free language interpretation in six major non-English languages.

Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo signed Executive Order No. 26 in October 2011, directing state agencies that provide direct services to the public to increase their foreign language access to help the approximately 2.5 million New Yorkers deemed to have limited English proficiency.

State agencies are now equipped to provide free interpretation in Spanish, Chinese, Russian, Italian, Korean and Haitian Creole, the six non-English languages spoken by the majority of the LEP community in New York, according to the U.S. Census.

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, almost 22 percent of New Yorkers were born outside of the U.S. and almost 30 percent speak a language at home other than English, a governor’s release says. Immigrants make up more than 27 percent of New York’s workforce.

For more information, visit the Department of Labor’s website at