Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / News / Awards/Honors / ABW announces award recipients

ABW announces award recipients

Alternatives for Battered Women handed out several awards Tuesday at its annual meeting, recognizing volunteers, board members, supporters and community partners for their contributions and collaboration to address domestic violence in the Rochester community.

• The Restore the Hope Award was presented to Capt. Lorraine Strem, the first female captain of the Rochester Police Department, who was appointed to chair an RPD domestic violence committee many years ago. The committee developed a tracking system for domestic incident reports, increasing training for officers on stalking and strangulation crimes, and started the Domestic Abuse Response Team, which has been a life raft for many victims.

• The Stop the Hurt Award was presented to the Legal Aid Society of Rochester, an ABW partner collaborating on several initiatives including the Court Advocacy Program, Grants to Encourage Arrest, Legal Assistance for Victims and the Latina Violence Intervention Program.

• The Annette Itkin Volunteer Award went to Judy Silvestrone, a volunteer court advocate who wants to raise awareness and understanding about the cycle of violence and the struggles victims experience with power and control.

• The Shine the Light Award went to Scott Hopsicker, a Brockport High School coach and teacher who has woven into his American history curriculum the history of violence against women, shining a light on the issue and people’s responsibility to stop the violence.