Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / News / Government State / AG names new bureau chiefs

AG names new bureau chiefs

The appointments of three experienced lawyers to lead key bureaus in the state Office of the Attorney General were announced Monday by Attorney General Eric T. Schneiderman.

Daniel Cort was named chief of the Public Integrity Bureau; Kathleen McGee, the Internet Bureau; and Thomas Teige Carroll, the Taxpayer Protection Bureau.

Cort will lead a team dedicated to cracking down on corruption and restoring the public’s trust in government, a mission that has been prioritized by Schneiderman since he took office. He has served as chief of the Public Integrity Unit for the New York County District Attorney’s Office; deputy bureau chief of the Rackets Bureau and as a senior investigative counsel.

McGee will continue the office’s work as a pioneer in Internet protection, bringing cutting-edge cases and entering important settlements related to a wide range of online and technology issues, from child safety to consumer fraud. She was director and lead counsel for the New York City Mayor’s Office of Special Enforcement.

Carroll will build on the first three years of progress of the Taxpayer Protection Bureau, created in 2011 to enforce the state’s False Claims Act. He has served as deputy bureau chief in the Investor Protection Bureau and was instrumental in its day-to-day management.