Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / News / New York’s fallen officers honored

New York’s fallen officers honored

Twenty-seven fallen law enforcement officers from agencies across New York state, including Rochester Police Officer Daryl Pierson, were honored today in a ceremony.

They join 1,360 others represented on the memorial from 141 police agencies across the state and five federal law enforcement agencies.

“These officers paid the ultimate sacrifice in service to their communities and their state,” said Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo.

The tribute included several officers who died last year from injuries sustained in the line of duty, officers who died from Ground Zero-related illnesses and historical deaths. Pierson died Sept. 3 after being shot and killed by a suspect he was pursuing on foot. The man charged with his murder is currently on trial.

Lt. Gov. Kathy Hochul honored the fallen heroes at a remembrance ceremony at the memorial where she was joined more than 400 guests, including local, state and federal law enforcement professionals, elected officials, and family members, colleagues and friends of the officers.

The names of fallen officers are placed randomly and without rank on the memorial to signify that every officer’s sacrifice is the same.

The memorial also recognizes “historical” deaths, those that occurred while officers were in service to their communities in years past but whose names were never added to the memorial. Among the five added this year are Deputy Sheriff Charles J. Kammerlohr of the Oneida County Sheriff’s Office (July 8, 1921); Undersheriff Ralph E. Legg, Yates County Sheriff’s Office (Aug. 23, 1958); Deputy Frederick W. Kaesser, Erie County Sheriff’s Office (Aug. 1, 1925); and game protectors William T. Cramer (Sept. 22, 1929) and John H. Woodruff (Nov. 27, 1919), both of the state Department of Environmental Conservation.

The memorial’s complete Roll of Honor is posted on the state Division of Criminal Justice Services’ website: